Reviews

What people are saying about The Lairg Hotel




The Lairg Hotel - Rating 5/5

Fantastic accommodation.Very clean andfriendly staff.

Reviewer:Farough M | Sat 2nd Feb 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Briliant stay - Rating 5/5

Stay was good!all amenities near by. I will stay again if will be around.

Reviewer:David Birkett (extra n | Sat 2nd Feb 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Great stay and locatio- Rating 5/5

Great location great staff who were very friendly and helpful. Cosy rooms

Reviewer:direct b | Mon 28th Jan 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Wonderful little hotel- Rating 5/5

I was amazed at how close the hotel is to Haymarket Station.The room I had was perfect for a single person, the hotel is clean, adequately spekked and beautifully decorated and quiet.I would definitely stay here again although the old guy that sometimes sits at front could smile at guests when greeted ;)Thanks for a good 4 night stay!

Reviewer:Merlin J | Thu 24th Jan 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Short break- Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Lairg before a few times its in a great location, rooms large ideal and very clean and great value for money.

Reviewer:Ann O | Thu 24th Jan 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Hotel con encanto - Rating 5/5

Nos encantó nuestra habitacion y el desayuno que incluía la estancia fue genial. La dueña del hotel es muy amable y simpática y te explica todo lo que necesitas saber para disfrutar de la ciudad, siempre con una sonrisa en la cara. Perfecto.

Reviewer:Ivan V | Mon 21st Jan 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Went the extra mile and then some... - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful evening at this hotel. I called ahead and spoke to Remus to request a certain room for my daughters birthday. Upon arrival I made a fuss with my daughter and the lovely girl on reception about the special princess room. I nearly cried when the staff escorted me to the room... they had blown up balloons and placed them with towels made up like swans on the bed. They had placed foil balloons in the plant pots and it was just amazing and unexpected because I hadn’t asked for that or even hinted at it. The next morning Uma came in with 6 kinder bars stacked on a plate with a candle and enlisted the other guest to sing happy birthday to my daughter. Again, I was completely unaware. I said to my daughter... that’s what you call going the extra mile and she responded “I think they went 2 extra miles mammy”. Could recommend highly enough. The rooms are stunning large Georgian style with high panelled ceilings, chandeliers and huge ventitian windows. It’s wondeful to consider the history of the place. Would definitely return, it’s only a stone throw away from the Haymarket station. Ideal location.

Reviewer:Ami D | Sun 20th Jan 2019 | 4 weeks ago


The extra mile and then some... - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful evening at this hotel. I called ahead and spoke to Remus to request a certain room for my daughters birthday. Upon arrival I made a fuss with my daughter and the lovely girl on reception about the special princess room. I nearly cried when the staff escorted me to the room... they had blown up balloons and placed them with towels made up like swans on the bed. They had placed foil balloons in the plant pots and it was just amazing and unexpected because I hadn’t asked for that or even hinted at it. The next morning Uma came in with 6 kinder bars stacked on a plate with a candle and enlisted the other guest to sing happy birthday to my daughter. Again, I was completely unaware. I said to my daughter... that’s what you call going the extra mile and she responded “I think they went 2 extra miles mammy”. Could recommend highly enough. The rooms are stunning large Georgian style with high panelled ceilings, chandeliers and huge ventitian windows. It’s wondeful to consider the history of the place. Would definitely return, it’s only a stone throw away from the Haymarket station. Ideal location.

Reviewer:Ami D | Sun 20th Jan 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Margaret - Rating 5/5

We always enjoy staying at the Lairg hotel when visitingEdinburgh !!! Always such a warm welcome . Irma is so bubble we love seeing her . The rooms are always clean and warm breakfasts are great . Will stay there every time .

Reviewer:MARGARET & PAUL S | Fri 18th Jan 2019 | 1 month ago


Leisure trip - Rating 4/5

My stop over in Edinburgh was delightful as I travel regularly & need to break my journey.Breakfast good. Room very clean. Staff very helpful.

Reviewer:Lynda L | Fri 18th Jan 2019 | 1 month ago


Edinburgh with a dog (dug) - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay ,friendly helpful welcome .excellent breakfast ,very good price. My wife will love it .

Reviewer:Grant P | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 1 month ago


Habitación con encanto muy cerca del centro - Rating 5/5

Habitación con mucho encanto y muy bien comunicado tanto con el aeropuerto como con el centro caminando.Baño perfecto, muy limpio y renovado.Personal encantador.Repetiré

Reviewer:Victor Sanchez G | Tue 8th Jan 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoy the stay very much . it was in the center of the city and very convenient.will definitely recommend to anyone who is visiting the city

Reviewer:Lawrence Christopher K | Fri 28th Dec 2018 | 1 month ago


Our third visit to the Lairg - Rating 4/5

We always get a warm welcome at the Lairg when we come up for the Christmas market, a lovely hotel in a great location. Be back next year

Reviewer:Michael P | Thu 20th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


A return visit! - Rating 5/5

Excellent yet again. Lovely place:-)

Reviewer:Kirsten W | Thu 20th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

I would recommended it

Reviewer:Fabrice P | Tue 18th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


Stay at the hotel - Rating 5/5

Nice big room, very friendly peopleQuietI recommend you

Reviewer:Pavla E | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


Have a nice stay - Rating 4/5

Great stay, with large and clean rooms, nice organized, excellent availability of staff, breakfast a little poor com and choice of products.

Reviewer:Andrea De B | Thu 13th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


Festive break - Rating 4/5

I enjoyed our stay in this hotel, We received a lovely warm welcome from a very friendly lady. The hotel is spotless and in a good position to explore the city.We didn't have the breakfast so cant comment, but would stay again

Reviewer:Patricia Q | Wed 12th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


Visitor - Rating 4/5

Excellent place to stay. Very near & walkong distance from city centre.

Reviewer:DONAL C | Wed 12th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

As a repeat customer with a course in the Haymarket area, I have found the Lairg to suit my needs perfectly!The single room is neat, clean and tidy.The bed is comfortable, and there is good water pressure!The staff is friendly.Perfect for my needs!

Reviewer:Jodie R | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


gentitcndbt - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 3 nights/ I liked everything/ the Staff was ready to help at any minute was top notch / the Breakfasts are amazing/ the location of the hotel is very convenient/. Next time I will definitely stay at your hotel/

Reviewer:Zulfiia S | Wed 5th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


Ottimo - Rating 5/5

Personale molto gentile e la signora che ci ha accolto davvero simpatica. Posizione ottima per muoversi sempre a piedi poichè vicinissima al centro ma altrettanto strategica per tutti i mezzi (bus, tram, taxi, Airlink100 e stazione di Haymarket).Pulizia nella norma, camere nuove.Nel complesso molto soddisfatti, consigliato!

Reviewer:Massimo V | Mon 3rd Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


Relaxing holiday - Rating 5/5

We stayed in this facility for 4 days, where we immediately felt welcomed.The rooms are very spacious and really equipped with all the comforts described in the booking process.The breakfast buffet with many variations for all tastes for both sweet and savory.Last but not least, this hotel is located in a strategic position for those who want to travel on foot to visit the city, and for those who want to use public transport, where in our case, husband, wife and child, with a ticket "Family Day "from £. 8.50 you can go around the city with all the trams and buses of the Lothian company (see:also valid for husband, wife and up to three minor children).For those who go to the city and return to the airport, there is a convenient service both by tram and bus, which stop both 100 meters from the hotel (we used the bus "Aircity 100, for the price of £ 7.50 per person).Fantastic experience of relaxation and comfort, to be recommended !!Invia commentiCronologiaSalvateCommunity

Reviewer:GENNARO P | Sat 1st Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


I’ll be back! - Rating 5/5

Great hotel. Last minute booking for me. Friendly staff, lovely room and building. Fab location.

Reviewer:Kirsten W | Sat 1st Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely room - Rating 4/5

Lovely guest house, very clean and stylish. Friendly and helpful staff. The only negative point was there was a bright light outside the window that flashed on and off all night so got no sleep.

Reviewer:Maree S | Fri 30th Nov 2018 | 2 months ago


Mooi typisch Schots hotel - Rating 5/5

Mooi typisch Schots hotel.Ruime kamer met hemelbed. Leuk antiek Engels meubilair.Nette schone en moderne badkamer. Prima ontbijt met ruime keus. Vriendelijk en behulpzaam personeel. Goede locatie t.o.v. openbaar vervoer naar vliegveld en centrum. Het centrum is ook goed aan te lopen.

Reviewer:Marina S | Thu 29th Nov 2018 | 2 months ago


Safe, quiet, cosy - Rating 5/5

Exactly as requested. Very close to Haymarket station but never heard.

Reviewer:susan c | Thu 29th Nov 2018 | 2 months ago


Estancia muy agrabable - Rating 4/5

Muy buena atencion y las habitaciones grandes.El desayuno muy completo y esta bien ubicado tanto para ir al centro como para ir al aeropuerto

Reviewer:Lorea Ane Del Castillo E | Thu 29th Nov 2018 | 2 months ago


Great stay and nice staff - Rating 4/5

The only negative thing I‘ve noticed was the bad working shower (from burning hot to ice cold in a couple of seconds)

Reviewer:Sarah M | Wed 28th Nov 2018 | 2 months ago


Great hotel, friendly and helpful staff - Rating 4/5

Great hotel, the only thing that was not 100% perfect was the shower. The hot/cold function was not working properly

Reviewer:Sarah M | Sun 25th Nov 2018 | 2 months ago


Enjoyable stay- Rating 5/5

The facilities were comfortable, staff courteous and very friendly and helpful and the location was ideal for the business I needed to attend to. Definitely a place to return to.

Reviewer:Jacques R | Sat 24th Nov 2018 | 2 months ago


A place so welcoming - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay in a hotel where you can feel at home. The reception of the staff is excellent and the look and size of the room pleased us very much.

Reviewer:Thierry W | Fri 23rd Nov 2018 | 2 months ago


Muy bien - Rating 5/5

Limpio, comodo, cerca del centro

Reviewer:marcos rosaleny s | Wed 21st Nov 2018 | 2 months ago


My Girl felt like a princess - Rating 5/5

We stayed 2 Nights in the Hotel to visit Edinburgh.Lovely People in the Hotel, very friendly, felt a Little Bit like family. We had a beatiful room with all we need. We will Come again! Trank you very much for this nice experience

Reviewer:Till L | Wed 21st Nov 2018 | 2 months ago


One of the best hotels - Rating 5/5

Very helpful when checking in. Nice and polite staff. The room was exceptionally clean and well presented. Comfortable bed. Have no fault with this hotel at all. Will highly recommend it to my friends and family.

Reviewer:Rhonda M | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 3 months ago


Good hotel - Rating 4/5

Staff very good, nice and available.Room very clean, the private bathroom as well.Hotel well situated, at 5 minutes of a tram stop.

Reviewer:Laure S | Sat 17th Nov 2018 | 3 months ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Great location for city & airport. Friendly, spacious ,good value. Great traditional breakfast.

Reviewer:Andrew H | Thu 15th Nov 2018 | 3 months ago


solo traveller - Rating 5/5

very nice stay friendly staff would stay again

Reviewer:David H | Tue 13th Nov 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent stay at The Lairg - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for 3 nights, we were upgraded on arrival to room 28 complete with very comfortable 4 poster bed! Irma (I hope I've spelled your name correctly?!) could not do enough for us to make sure we had an excellent stay, provided a map, showed us the quick route to The Grassmarket, via Morrison Street, without walking the long route via Princes Street. The hotel is in a good location, away from the hustle & bustle of the old town but only 10-15 minutes walk away from the old part of the city (otherwise less than 5 mins walk from Haymarket station or a few tram stops if you have heavy bags to carry). We had a full Scottish breakfast in the dining room, which was excellent and plentiful. Our room was spotlessly clean, with plenty of tea, coffee for our needs - in summary, we wholeheartedly recommend the Lairg for comfort, friendly staff, good value, location away from the main throng to allow for a quiet nights sleep to recover from a hard days sightseeing! Thank you! 😀👍

Reviewer:Joy W | Fri 9th Nov 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent stay at The Lairg - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for 3 nights, we were upgraded on arrival to room 28 complete with very comfortable 4 poster bed! Irma (I hope I've spelled your name correctly?!) could not do enough for us to make sure we had an excellent stay, provided a map, showed us the quick route to The Grassmarket, via Morrison Street, without walking the long route via Princes Street. The hotel is in a good location, away from the hustle & bustle of the old town but only 10-15 minutes walk away from the old part of the city (otherwise less than 5 mins walk from Haymarket station or a few tram stops if you have heavy bags to carry). We had a full Scottish breakfast in the dining room, which was excellent and plentiful. Our room was spotlessly clean, with plenty of tea, coffee for our needs - in summary, we wholeheartedly recommend the Lairg for comfort, friendly staff, good value, location away from the main throng to allow for a quiet nights sleep to recover from a hard days sightseeing! Thank you! 😀👍

Reviewer:Joy W | Fri 9th Nov 2018 | 3 months ago


My first choice for Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

I've stayed several times at the Lairg, in different rooms. Always very clean and well maintained accommodation, friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Andrew H | Fri 9th Nov 2018 | 3 months ago


Review for single room - Rating 4/5

High quality room, comfortable, warm and reasonably quiet much of the time.Heard a dripping sound which sounded like it came from floor above on the second night of my stay which kept me awake. More milk sachets could have been provided.Overall enjoyed my stay.

Reviewer:Tanya S | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent Accomodation. - Rating 5/5

Stayed for two nights. Hotel room was spacious, clean and full of character. Four poster bed provided. Nice and quiet in the rear of building. Superb shower room. Within easy reach of all amenities. Walking distance to Haymarket station.

Reviewer:Mike S | Fri 2nd Nov 2018 | 3 months ago


Edinburgh Birthday Stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay at the Lairg - brilliant welcome by the woman on reception, she was very friendly and happy to show us all the local attractions in Edinburgh on a map!! Thank you again for a great trip away!

Reviewer:Michelle R | Wed 31st Oct 2018 | 3 months ago


Large room with four poster bed! - Rating 5/5

Stairs have worn out carpets. Once we entered the room we were very pleased with it. Clean linen, white towels, clean and adequate shower room. All important kettle with lots of tea, coffee and biscuits. Very large bed. Room is nicely furnished. We needed a cheap accommodation for university entrance day visit. Close to Station and tram stop. Will return. We didn’t try breakfast.

Reviewer:Surangi J | Fri 26th Oct 2018 | 3 months ago


A very pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

The room was small but very clean and nice.The lady at the reception when we checked in was extremely helpful. Although we were disappointed in having no refridgerator in the room, this meant we could have anything other than crisps and water to eat or drink in the room. Over all a pleasant stay

Reviewer:Colleen B | Tue 23rd Oct 2018 | 3 months ago


My husband birthday in Edinburgh ❤️ - Rating 4/5

Amazing city,beautiful scenery!!!Very good hotel!!Great location,clean and big room!!Thanks!!

Reviewer:Corina B | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 4 months ago


Comfortable stay which I would be happy to repeat. - Rating 5/5

Staff helped with luggage as requested prior to my arrival. The room was spacious, clean and well-furnished and the bed was comfortable. Thought room was going to be cold as there was no manually controlled heater, but central heating came on timeously. The walk-in shower was easy to use and the provision of a large bath sheet as well as a hand towel and bath towel very welcome.I chose the continental breakfast buffet which had a varied selection and good coffee.

Reviewer:Elinor G | Fri 5th Oct 2018 | 4 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

The staff was really nice and helpfull, the place itself was beautiful and elegant. We had breakfast as well, my partner had continental breakfast and I tried out their cusine, both was excellent.

Reviewer:Evelin E | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 4 months ago


Splendid - Rating 5/5

Very nice place, great location, lovely people, good breakfast

Reviewer:Ewa B | Thu 27th Sep 2018 | 4 months ago


Very good location indeed. - Rating 4/5

Walking distance to main attractions, train station is just across the street. Airport bus is just 200m walk away. Helpful from desk assistant who allowed me to check in before check-in time.Very happy with my stay.

Reviewer:Pit Wen L | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 4 months ago


Perfect place to stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed one night at the Lairg Hotel in Edinburgh and I must say it was a very pleasant stay, staff was very friendly, the room was very clean and the breakfast was very good. The location of the Hotel is very convenient because it's central. I will recommend it any time.

Reviewer:HEIKO K | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 4 months ago


Perfect place to stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed one night at the Lairg Hotel in Edinburgh and I must say it was a very pleasant stay, staff was very friendly, the room was very clean and the breakfast was very good. The location of the Hotel is very convenient because it's central. I will recommend it any time.

Reviewer:HEIKO K | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 4 months ago


nice and friendly city-hotel - Rating 4/5

we had a nice and surprisingly calm room on 2nd floor with comphy beds. Great breakfast - a good choice for some days at Edinbourgh - good location some steps from Haymarket (and Airport-bus)

Reviewer:Michaela R | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 4 months ago


Excellent stay ! - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay ! Helpful staff ! Great room ! Good location

Reviewer:Susan B | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 4 months ago


Opinion - Rating 4/5

Good service and attention, very hospitable.

Reviewer:Leticia Andrea Barajas N | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 5 months ago


Typical small pleasant hotel - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, helpful staff.Clean and comfortable single room, by luck overlooking the back garden.Having stayed in this neighbourhood many times, it is a very honest price quality ratio.Ideal location near Haymarket Station, any bus and tramway.You can virtually walk to town in 20 minutes (New Town, then the Royal Mile and the Castle) but also explore along the Water of Leith to the Modern Art Galleries, Dean Village, Stockbridge, etc.(Provided you have enjoyed a full scottish breakfast!).

Reviewer:Jean-Francois G | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 5 months ago


Comfortable and friendly Hotel - Rating 5/5

This is a very comfortable hotel, nice, large rooms. Hotel is close to the Station and tramstop. Staf is very friendly. Good breakfast.

Reviewer:Peter D | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 5 months ago


Very nice hotel - Rating 4/5

Very friendly staff. Room was perfect and absolutly clean. Location is also perfect just 5 minutes walk to Haymarket station. I'll would stay here definitly again!! Ihad no breakfast, but 11pounds is a little bit expensive

Reviewer:Ulrike O | Sun 9th Sep 2018 | 5 months ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

it was fantastic stay at your hotel. I enjoyed. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mini Othayoth A | Sun 9th Sep 2018 | 5 months ago


Quick stop in Edinburgh- Rating 5/5

Great location, clean room and super breakfast

Reviewer:John M | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 5 months ago


A really wonderful hotel! - Rating 5/5

I spent three nights at the Lairg hotel and it was one of my best erperiences:first of all, people who work there, at the reception, in the breakfast, a very kind and helpful house-keeper Rimas (thank you very much, dear Rimas for yourhelp and kindness!)The hotel is very well located, next to Haymarket, in a walking distance from the city and the castle, the breakfast was delicious, the room was large and there was absolutely no noise at night. One of the best hotels I have ever visited!

Reviewer:Viatcheslav V | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 5 months ago


I will repeat again! - Rating 5/5

I was 3 nights in this hotel. I was very happy to see the owners and the people who worked here helped and gave me a lot of information about everything:tourist attractions, buses... The girl,who was from Venezuela, was a very nice person. The bedroom was very big and clean and about the breakfast, you could choose continetal or English breakfast. The buses to go to the centre very near and in front of the buses there was a train station. I will repeat if I come back again.

Reviewer:mercedes subiela l | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 5 months ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and good place. Again!

Reviewer:Leonhard H | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 5 months ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

Everything has been perfect! The location, the car park, the breakfast and the room. The room is not large but is cozy! I absolutely recommend this guesthouse!

Reviewer:Sara M | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 6 months ago


The Lairg Hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, good sized room. Helpful staff. Good location for public transport

Reviewer:Peter N | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 7 months ago


Above expectations - Rating 5/5

Was very very pleasantly surprised at standard of accommodation in cleanliness, size and comfort.Staff were also very pleasant.Didn't sample the breakfast as thought £10 per head was a little expensive.

Reviewer:Douglas C | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 7 months ago


Nice stay in Edinburgh - Rating 4/5

The hotel is very well located. Staff is friendly and helpful. I do recommend to check in what room you will be and ask for rooms in the middle floors. In overall we had a nice stay at the Lairg.

Reviewer:EXQUIS N | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 7 months ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian